Caveat Emptor

There’s an amazing number of employers on the Internet looking for quality writing but not willing to pay for it.  Their rates are ludicrous, such as $0.25 per 100 words, or $2 for 500 words.  Writers who are willing to work for such wages either live in countries with much lower cost-of-living standards than the U.S. or beginning writers who are no doubt desperate for work (and who probably are not very good at their craft from what I’ve seen).  I’ve seen query letters from writers with grammatical, spelling and punctuation mistakes.  I guess writers like that aren’t worth more than $2 per 500 words.

Then there are employers who want applicants to write a free article to “demonstrate their writing ability.”  I’m a professional writer.  I don’t give freebies of my work.  If they want to see how well I handle my craft, I’ll gladly send them samples of my works or my website address.  If that’s not good enough for them, too bad!

And then there are marketers of email address lists.  One in particular, email-list.com, claims to update their lists frequently.  Yet a list I recently purchased from them for almost $100 contained more bad than good email addresses.  Beware of companies like that!  Go with those that offer some kind of guarantee that you can fall back on should any of their addresses bounce back.

Well, so much for my grousing for one day.  On the positive side, I do offer high quality writing for reasonable rates and I guarantee complete satisfaction, unless the employer thinks they know more about writing than I do.  So why don’t they write it themselves?  I’m still grousing, aren’t I?

Remember that happiness comes from within, not without.  The things in your external environment that you think make you happy can disappear or be taken away in the blink of an eye.  Your thoughts cannot be taken from you, unless you give others the power to do so.  Your thoughts are your reality.  Really!  Would I lie to you?

About aakemp

I am a fiction writer and freelance writer/proofreader with excellent research abilities as well. What I offer is high quality writing done in a smooth, logically consistent and error-free manner. No fluff ever with my writing! Just intelligent, interesting copy. My novels include the young adult fantasy, "The Dragons of Atlantis" and the thriller/mystery, "Beneath the Smoke," available on Amazon's Kindle program. Also "The Dragons of Atlantis" is available on OffTheBookshelf.com as an ebook or hard copy.
This entry was posted in the creative writer. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

